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4100 BRANCH CENTER ROAD, SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA 95827
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LEE SEALE
CHIEF PROBATION OFFICER

Juvenile Record Seals Instructions
(Welfare & Institutions Code § 781)

A. Who is eligible?

To meet the minimum eligibility requirements to obtain a record seal, you must:

Be at least 18 years of age, or

If under 18 years of age, be off of probation for five years;

Have no Adult Court felony convictions;

Have no Adult Court misdemeanor conviction involving moral turpitude?!; and
Have no unresolved civil actions filed against the peace officers, law enforcement
agency, or probation officer that made the arrest, issued the citation, or
commenced the proceedings.

B. Who may petition for a record seal?

e You may personally petition the court to seal your records; or
e You may request that the Probation Department petition the court for you.

C. Who is NOT likely to have records sealed?

Meeting the minimum requirements does not guarantee the court will grant a petition to
seal records. A judge will not seal juvenile records unless he/she is satisfied you have
attained rehabilitation. Though many petitions to seal juvenile records are granted, some
reasons a judge will deny a petition include:

e You were committed to the California Department of Corrections and
Rehabilitation, Division of Juvenile Facilities (formerly CYA) and have not reached
the age of 21,

e You were committed to the California Department of Corrections and
Rehabilitation, Division of Juvenile Facilities (formerly CYA) and have not
completed your period of probation supervision after release from the division.

1 “Moral turpitude” is a legal term that means “readiness to do evil or corruption of others.” It commonly includes crimes of violence,
theft related offenses, crimes related to drug sales, and sex offenses. For details, see California Code, Welfare and Institutions Code
- 707 (b): https://codes.findlaw.com/ca/welfare-and-institutions-code/wic-sect-707.html .
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D. What other factors will the court consider?

The judge will consider the following circumstances in deciding whether you have
sufficiently attained rehabilitation to justify sealing your records:

Is there any civil lawsuit pending against you related to the facts that were involved
in your juvenile case?

Do you have any recent arrests or citations including traffic matters?

Are you currently on formal or informal probation or parole?

E. Is there afiling fee?

No.

F. What is the application and petition filing process?

Obtain an Application to Seal Juvenile Records at the Juvenile Courthouse
reception window at 9605 Kiefer Boulevard, Sacramento CA 95827 or on the
Sacramento County Probation Department’s internet website.?

Submit the completed application to Juvenile Courthouse in person or by mail to:
9605 Kiefer Boulevard, Sacramento CA 95827. (Fax and email are not permitted.)

— With your application, please provide a list of all law enforcement
agencies holding any records you want to have sealed.

Once your application is received:

— Your application will be forwarded to the Sacramento County Probation
Department’s Juvenile Record Seal Officer. The officer will conduct a
background investigation.

— You, or the probation officer filing on your behalf, may file a Petition to Seal
Juvenile Court Records listing all law enforcement agencies holding records
you want to have sealed.

— If your application is denied, you do retain the right to petition the Court
yourself or retain the services of an attorney to petition the Court for you.

G. What does the Juvenile Record Seal Officer do?

The Juvenile Record Seal Officer will research your background to determine
eligibility to have your record sealed in compliance with the law.
If the Juvenile Record Seal Officer finds you are not eligible, a rejection letter will
be mailed to you informing you why your application was denied and when and if
you are eligible to reapply.
If the Juvenile Record Seal Officer finds you are eligible, he/she will:

— Prepare the petition to seal records;

— Mail you a copy of the petition for review: and

— Forward the petition to the court for consideration.

2 Website: http://www.probation.saccounty.net/Pages/default.aspx. Select search, enter Record Seal, click Juvenile Record Seals.

Page 2 of 3


http://www.probation.saccounty.net/Pages/default.aspx

H. What happens when your record is sealed?

If the Court orders your juvenile record sealed, the juvenile proceedings are
deemed, by law, to have never occurred, and you can lawfully tell anyone you have
no juvenile record.
The Court will send a copy of the order to each agency and official who has any of
your records, directing them to seal and destroy your records.
Vehicle Code charges, however, cannot be sealed from access by the Department
of Motor Vehicles. The DMV must grant insurance companies access to your
sealed driving records for the purpose of:
— Determining your eligibility for automobile insurance; and
— Determining the rates the insurance company will charge you if they issue
an insurance policy.
Generally, once your records are sealed, they cannot be unsealed unless you
request it. Unsealing records for any purpose requires a court hearing and order.
— However, if you ever sue someone for defamation of character, the judge,
the jury, and all parties named in the suit may be allowed to view your sealed
records.
Records in the purview of the court are destroyed:
— Five years after the record was ordered sealed, or
— When you turn 38 years old
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